Music composed by Jules Massenet. Libretto by Henri Cain and Francis de
Croisset after the latterís play.

First Performance: 14 February 1905, Monte Carlo OpÈra.

Principal Characters:
ChÈrubin Soprano
L¥Ensoieillad Soprano
Nina Soprano
La Comtesse Soprano
La Baronne Mezzo-Soprano
Le Philosophe Bass or Baritone
Le Compte Baritone
Le Duc Tenor
Le Baron Baritone
Le Capitaine Ricardo Tenor
L¥HÙtelier Baritone
Un officier (trËs grand) Bass

Massenet¥s comedy explores the love affairs of Cherubino, the amorous
page of The Marriage of Figaro, the second play in the Beaumarchais Figaro
trilogy. The title-rÙle was designed for Mary Garden, Debussy¥s first

[Source: Naxos]

Click here for
the complete libretto

image_description=Susan Graham
first_audio_name=Jules Massenet: ChÈrubin
product_title=Jules Massenet: ChÈrubin
product_by=Susan Graham (ChÈrubin)
Robert Lloyd (Le Philosophe)
Maria Bayo (L¥Ensoleillad)
Angela Gheorghiu (Nina)
Gerard Quinn (Count)
Jane Leslie Mackenzie (Countess)
Peter Savidge (Baron)
Fiona Kimm (Baroness)
Ryland Davies (Duke)
Gordon Wilson (Ricardo)
Gordon Sandison (Innkeeper)
Bryan Secombe (Officer)
Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Mario Bernardi
Live broadcast, 24 February 1994, London